Desegregation Advisory Committee (DAC) Meeting

Tuesday, August 23, 2016

Annie C. Merts Center

Call to Order: A non-public meeting of the DAC was held at the Annie C. Merts Center on Tuesday, August 23rd, 2016. The meeting was called to order at 6:15p.m. by Chair, Keith Poe.

Members in Attendance: Members of the DAC in attendance were Ann Kvach, Talya Hargrove, Keith Poe, Laura Lemley, Chaundra Jones, Kimberly Flint, Oshea Robinson, Vinny Argentina, Millie Steber, Ashley Sparks, and Preeti Francis. Also in attendance was Carlos Gonzales, Special Master.

The meeting began with the election of the DAC Secretary. The committee unanimously elected Preeti Francis to serve as DAC Secretary. Mr. Gonzales, then presented information to the DAC members about his background, area of expertise which is decree implementation. He stated that his involvement is at Judge Haikala's request in order to identify ways to make it easier to implement the decree. He clarified the role of the DAC. It does not oversee the Board of Education. The DAC serves in an advisory role to the Superintendent. The purpose of Mr. Gonzales' attendance at this meeting is to gather information in order to make recommendations to Judge Haikala in order to clarify the duties of the DAC. This was followed by a lengthy discussion about the possible changes to the duties and operation of the DAC in order to help the committee fulfill its purpose. Mr. Gonzales will compile the input received and make recommendations to the judge. He then left the meeting.

The meeting then continued with the committee reviewing its operating procedures. It was determined that the meetings will begin at 6pm. The committee decided to eliminate the position of Assistant Secretary. The position of Co-Chair/Parliamentarian was combined with Compliance. Isha Greene was elected to serve in this role. Vinny Argentina was elected to serve as Communication Coordinator. Ashley Sparks was elected to serve as Research and Investigation Coordinator. The committee anticipates creating sub-committees in this area. The vote on the position of Annual Report Author was tabled.

The meeting adjourned at 8:35p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Preeti Francis

DAC Secretary

Approved by the DAC on January 25, 2017