Mission Statement

We, the members of the Desegregation Advisory Committee (DAC), are an independent, volunteer group composed of Huntsville City Schools (HCS) students and parents with children enrolled in HCS.  We are responsible for monitoring HCS’s implementation of the Consent Order by reviewing data, making recommendations to the superintendent, and filing reports with the Court. We serve as a voice of the community and an early warning system for developing challenges. We gather information from both the public and HCS and we make assessments about whether, in our view, HCS is meeting its obligation to faithfully implement the Consent Order.

We are not a second board of education and do not have authority to set HCS policy. We are not responsible for assigning students, staff, or faculty to schools, for hiring or firing HCS employees, or for establishing HCS budget priorities. We recognize that our ultimate responsibility is to improve the future for all children in the Huntsville City School System and to help finally remove the tenacious and immoral vestiges of segregation.

2018/2019 Feeder Patter Meetings

The DAC will hold public meetings for each High Schools feeder pattern. Everyone is welcome to attend any of these meetings. This will be an open forum for questions, concerns, and community feedback. The DAC would like to hear your stories of the consent order is creating positive change, and understand areas that still need improvement. The DAC is responsible for monitoring Huntsville City Schools implementation of the consent order, by receiving community feedback, reviewing data, making recommendations, and filing reports with the Court. Your input is a very valuable part of this process.

Tuesday February 5, 2019 | 6:30 pm | Columbia High School @ Morris P8 (click for map)

Tuesday February 19, 2019 | 6:30 pm | Jemison High School @ Richard Showers Center (click for map)

Thursday February 28, 2019 | 6:30 pm | Grissom High School @ Southwood Presbyterian Church (click for map)

Tuesday March 5, 2019 | 6:30 pm | Huntsville High School @ Huntsville High Auditorium (click for map)

March 12, 2019 | 6:30 pm | Lee High School @ Optimist Recreation Center Oakwood Avenue (click for map)

April 9, 2019 | 6:30 pm | District Wide Meeting @ Lee High School Small Auditorium (click for map)

Consent Order Areas

Descriptions to be posted pending approval from the Court.

2018/19 DAC Members

  • Angela Curry
  • Kristi Santiago
  • Donald Ford
  • Mamading Kassama
  • Joe’l Leverett
  • Lashonda Mitchell
  • Alyssa Poe
  • Amy Quinones
  • Brian Randall
  • Lonette Jenkins-Bell
  • Lauren Scott
  • Michael Simmons
  • Nancy Tredaway Stuart
  • Lance Cooper
  • Sarah Tran
  • Jayden A Gautreaux